Click this banner to learn more

Connect to The Advocate

McBay Graduates Law Enforcement Academy

Russell D. McBay of Kingston Springs received the leadership award during Walters State’s Basic Law Enforcement Academy graduation in March. Pictured with the officer is Jeffrey Gazzo, assistant professor of Criminal Justice.

Thirty five officers are eligible to join the rosters of law enforcement agencies with the recent graduation of the latest Basic Law Enforcement Academy class at Walters State Community College.

The Basic Law Enforcement Academy, held at the college’s Greeneville/Greene County Campus, offers the eight-week training required of all new law enforcement recruits during their first year of employment. The Program is part of the East Tennessee Regional Law Enforcement Academy established at Walters State by the Peace Officers Standards and Training Commission. It is also part of the college’s Public Safety Center of Emphasis, a designation recognizing its outstanding record in career preparation.

The speaker for the graduation exercises, which were held March 16, was Regan Tilson, chief of police, Erwin Tennessee Police Department.

Award Winners for the class included: Nathaniel “Travis” Bostic, Lafollette, academic award; Christopher J. Gregg, Cosby, defensive and tactical driving award; Jordan K. Briggs, Erwin, defensive tactics award; Quinn H. Shelton, Kingsport, firearms award; Shae M. Bailey, Tazewell, best athlete award; Matt G. Tuck, Lafayette, outstanding student award; Russell D. McBay, Kingston Springs, leadership award; Salvatore Caccamo, Butler, Charles Edward Baskette Memorial award for courage and determination; Christopher J. Gregg, Cosby, Tennessee Sheriffs’ Association award; Bruce H. Belitz III, Seymour, Tennessee Association of Chiefs of Police award.

Officers for the class included: Nathaniel “Travis” Bostic, Jacksboro, president and Russell D. McBay, Kingston Springs, executive officer.

Leave a Reply