Click this banner to learn more

Connect to The Advocate

Perfect Day for 2013 Run Through the Springs

Congratulations to all of the race winners

Congratulations to all of the race winners!
Click on the photo above to view all the race photos

It was a perfect day for a 5K Race, clear and a little cool. The runners were charged up and ready to run when the siren blew at 9:00 a.m. Out of Burns Park, up Park Street, down Main Street, out Kingston Springs Road turning around at Merrylog and running back through the downtown residential district to the finish line in Burns Park. Some of the runners were in costumes, others were in their best running clothes, and a few wore their favorite jeans.

Awards were presented by the always popular Bob Sanders. Bananas, bagels and gatorade were available to runners after the race.

A special thanks to the sponsors: Community Bank and Trust, Heritage Bank, River Springs Dental, Kingston Springs Pharmacy, McDonalds, and new sponsor, DATCO. Without their support, this race would not be possible. Please use these local businesses whenever possible.

Thanks to all of the 34 volunteers who helped out: Bob Sanders, Boo Sanders, Gary and Trina Corlew, Tony and Joy Gross, Becky Anderson, Marie and Rick Spafford, Sara Hamilton, Steve Cooper, Joy Hailey, Kristie Oakley, Weslea Miniat, Katie Conley, Mike Lee.

Firefighters: Jordan Fritz, Austin Patterson, Travis Shaw, Maverick Baker, Kevin Weller, Nick Paschall, Nathan Vetitoe.

Staff Members: Brandy Miniat (Parks Director and Race Director), Scott Sampson (Parks Facilities Manager), Police/Fire Chief E. Ivey, Officers Jeremy Vaughan, TC Swaggerty, Nate Palazzi, Mario Martinez. Public Works Director, Clint Biggers and staff members Wefel Tidwell and Trevin Presley. City Manager Laurie Cooper.

Thanks also to the residents of downtown Kingston Springs who have cooperated every year without a whimper to having their streets closed for over an hour on a Saturday morning.

Winners from the 2013 Run Through the Springs 5K


1st Place: Jacob Carrigan  $100

2nd Place:  Kelby Isbell     $ 75

3rd Place: Will Miniat        $ 50


1st Place:  April Dulin        $100

2nd Place: Kim Freeman  $ 75

3rd Place: Angie Gasser   $ 50

BEST COSTUME – $50 prize

Sandy Hoiberg and her sister, Jennifer Hogan


Sawyer, owned by Alicia McNeil, who came dressed as a GROOM.


Ellie, owned by Ava Kelly.

TEAM WINNER – $50 prize

“True Men” (team name)

Matthew Baker, Will Miniat, Henry Oakley, Mason Rodriguez, Brandon Collins, Grant Patterson, Luke Gossett and Win Seagraves.

Leave a Reply